Bookstore wandering :Left Bank books at Pike place market 

Hello Bobbin!

Just checking in with you, and letting you know I’m alive and well!! ( Despite the warlike brutality of job hunting and apartment hunting… sigh, I digress)
I’m enjoying the heatwave that is nationwide but is very daunting in Seattle. I LOVE sunshine…but I’ve been here in Washington for far too long and I feel my tolerance for ‘heat’ is much lower then I want it to be 🙂  so after facing a case of painters block, I decided to do a book store run or take refuge in the comfort of paperbacks and AC. The setting of today’s excursion was Left Bank books at Pike place market.  It’s a quaint little store that has an adorable and irresistible reading nook on the second floor… I was looking for a book titled “Women who run with Wolves because of a quote  I read from it on tumblr rumbled my curiousity:

“Wolves and women are relational by nature, inquiring, possessed of great endurance and strength. They are deeply intuitive, intensely concerned with their young, their mate and their pack. Yet both have been hounded, harassed and falsely imputed to be devouring and devious, overly aggressive, of less value than those who are their detractors.” 
-Clarissa Pinkola Estes

I didn’t find it. ( or a used copy) It seems that it’s pretty popular (go figure) and I’m just now getting on the proper feminist bandwagon 😀   From what I’ve skimmed, the book seems to be tying in parallels of strong female characters and wolves…I couldn’t help but think of my novel and the artwork I’m drawing/painting and how the little from this book is inspiring ideas for my art work 🙂  I also browsed a book called ‘The Whale’ but I save that for another post 😉

-Bisous

          

Leave a Reply

